North East Post
A Voice of the Free Press
Graham Clark
Music Features Writer
1:00 AM 20th April 2024

Albums: Compilation - Now 117

Compilation - Now 117

CD1: Noah Kahan -Stick Season; Benson Boone- Beautiful Things; Teddy Swims - Lose Control; Ariana Grande - Yes, and?;Tate McRae- Greedy; Olivia Rodrigo-Get Him Back; Miley Cyrus – Used To Be Young; Lewis Capaldi – Strangers; Tyla-Water; Doja Cat-Agora Hills; Ella Henderson feat. Rudimental – Alibi; Zara Larsson & David Guetta - On My Love; Becky Hill & Sonny Fodera - Never be Alone; Jax Jones, D.O.D. & Ina Wroldsen - Won't Forget You; Nathan Dawe - We Ain't Here for Long; Nicki Minaj - Pink Friday Girls; PinkPantheress feat. Central Cee - Nice to meet you;
Paloma Faith - Bad Woman; Ilsey - No California; Georgia Ku - A Little More Lost; Sabrina Carpenter – Feather; Kylie Minogue - Hold on to Now;Pet Shop Boys - Loneliness (Radio Edit); Sophie Ellis-Bextor - Murder on the Dancefloor (Radio Edit).

CD2: Olly Alexander (Years & Years) – Dizzy; Dua Lipa – Houdini; Jack Harlow - Lovin on Me; Paul Russell - Lil Boo Thang; Jennifer Lopez - Can't Get Enough; Eliza Rose x Calvin Harris - Body Moving; RAYE - Worth It; The Last Dinner Party - Nothing Matters; Lana Del Rey - Take Me Home, Country Roads; Troye Sivan - One of Your Girls; Sia & Kylie Minogue - Dance Alone; Jason Derulo & Michael Bublé - Spicy Margarita; David Guetta & Kim Petras - When We Were Young (The Logical Song); Nathan Dawe & Bebe Rexha - Heart Still Beating; Jazzy - Shooting Star;Jonas Brothers & Bailey Zimmerman - Strong Enough; James Arthur - Bitter Sweet Love; Liam Gallagher & John Squire - Just Another Rainbow; Disturbed - The Sound of Silence (CYRIL Remix; Nathan Evans - Heather on the Hill; Tom Walker - Head Underwater; Calum Scott – Lighthouse; P!NK - All Out of Fight; James Blunt - All the Love That I Ever Needed (Clean Version); Take That - This Life; Natasha Bedingfield - Unwritten.

(EMI/SONY MUSIC) 9658883182

Now music compilations are always a good indicator of what is current in the UK singles charts. Since the series premiered in 1983, the compilation series has spawned various configurations, ranging from the Now Dance series to versions including rock and country music too.

The Top 75 singles chart continues to be dominated by female singers, who are naturally represented here, with Ariana Grande, Olivia Rodrigo, Tyla, and Dua Lip having some of the biggest chart hits of the last few months. Following the inclusion of Sophie Eliis-Bextor's former hit, Murder on the Dancefloor, on the TV series Saltburn, the track has found fame yet again, albeit with a younger generation.

The United Kingdom entry for the Eurovision Song Contest is in Malmo. Olly Alexander's track Dizzy, from Sweden, has the sound of a Eurovision winner. The dance-inspired atmosphere continues with Body Moving from Eliza Rose and Calvin Harris; although the track was a big success on the nation's dancefloors, it only reached the lower echelons of the main singles chart. Ella Henderson and Rudimental have had a massive European hit with Alibi, a song that uses a sample from the old Coolio hit Gangstas Paradise from 1995. Jennifer Lopez offers the seductive Can't Get Enough, another track that has been a huge success in Europe.

The indie and rock scene might not be too prevalent in the charts these days. Disturbed, along with John Squire and Liam Gallagher, display that guitar-based music is still in fine form in 2024 with their respective tracks.

Overall, though, this is a fine collection of tracks from some of the biggest music artists around.